On Being Who We Are

I could be lots of things in life,
including things that I’m not.
So could you.
We have a choice between
being who we are
and being who we’re not.

I’m not trying to poke you in the eye
with truth or anything so resembling,
and you should know that
I’m not above mistakes,
and yes at times,
I am guilty of serious misdirection.
So please don’t put me on a pedestal,
or any other place up high,
but do consider,
just for one moment,
the possibility that light can emerge
in any of us
during our darkest hour,
and make us shine forth.

It troubles me,
and probably you too,
that somehow some of us think at times
that some of us somehow are entitled to more,
or something special,
that the rest of us cannot receive.
That’s nonsense!
In fact, it’s the farthest thing from the truth.

So next time you think of distant galaxies–
places your imagination can hardly reach,
consider the possibility that each of us
in our own special way
can find happiness, truth, and
most importantly liberation
from all that obsesses us
and drives us completely mad.

So I could be lots of things in life,
and so could you, but
the real question is:
Can we just be ourselves
and find happiness in that?

Click here to hear me read this poem.

Author: Don Iannone, D.Div., Ph.D.

Biography Writer, photographer, poet, and teacher. Holds doctorates in Divinity and Metaphysical Philosophy. Author of 20 books, including seven poetry books, nine photography, and four nonfiction books. Contact Information Contact Don Iannone by email: diannone@gmail.com

14 thoughts on “On Being Who We Are”

  1. Thanks Trinitystar and Lost Crow.

    Lost Crow: Usually it something specific in us that weighs us down and keeps us from flying like an eagle.

  2. I guess Don we will eventually. It is an art.

    Just Be!

    sorry Ive not been here for sometime, pc has been on the blink and family have been over … :o)

    thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  3. Thanks Blondie, Rax, Jel, Aurora, and Dan. Appeciate your comments very much.

    Jel: Glad you found me. Didn’t mean to scare you.

  4. Very touching words. Really has so much truth written in such a lovely and heartfelt way. Love this one!!

  5. this brought a smile to my face đŸ™‚ but the last lines really do linger. food for thought. a question that leads to more questions. wonderful insight!

  6. ok , you scare me a little back, thereon your old blog! đŸ˜•

    you would have laugh when ya mouth jaw fall open when I read that! đŸ˜‰

    bad boy!

Leave a comment