Journey to the Heart

Wonderful, long-held secrets abound in your heart
They patiently await you
Open the door
Enter with honesty, and
trust whatever that honesty brings

Discover, unwrap
the many unopened presents
awaiting you at your heart’s door
Take them inside
Open them
Allow the love they contain to grow

Rediscover the many gifts of love
that have filled your heart
throughout your lifetime
Revel in their beauty
Live in their promise
that once a gift of love has been given
It is always with you

Love is what we all come back to
For some of us, it has taken longer
to realize that love is
what we really are

For some of us
our entire journey in life
has been about discovering the secrets
that lie buried deep in the cave of our hearts

It’s not a long journey, really
when you’re ready
The heart requires no reservations
to visit what it holds
Getting there can be as simple as
floating on a lotus blossom
on the still waters of your soul

Author: Don Iannone, D.Div., Ph.D.

Biography Writer, photographer, poet, and teacher. Holds doctorates in Divinity and Metaphysical Philosophy. Author of 20 books, including seven poetry books, nine photography, and four nonfiction books. Contact Information Contact Don Iannone by email: diannone@gmail.com

12 thoughts on “Journey to the Heart”

  1. fluter4ever: (Pam)…Thanks for stopping by. Please come back. Glad you liked Journey. Rilke is a favorite of mine. So much of what you have said above is exactly what Rilke went through in his spiritual journey. You’re here for a reason – not just on my website, or tracking your son’s poetry, or even exploring Rilke. Your reason, as for all of us, is to connect without any resistance to the whole of life, which birthed us in the 1st place. God’s speed. Don

  2. Dan: Thanks. Wasn’t planning a site change, BUT the old design did not allow me to stream pics from Flickr, as Brenda suggested…so I switched.

  3. Borut: Having spent time in Arizona, I REALLY know what you mean, and just rememeber…your heart requires NO reservations to visit. Go!

  4. Don, I just found your website thru a round about way of googling info on Rainer Rilke. My son is 19 and writing a lot and it reminded someone of Rilke’s poetry. Enjoyed reading your poems, especially “Journey to the Heart”. A journey which I am very much working thru, actually agonizing thru. As I embrace more of life and God, in new ways, I question whether I am being misled while soaking in new self awareness and appreciation for other viewpoints. I know it’s a journey we all go thru, some later than others. I see much beauty and rest here on your site. Hoping to see that develop in my life and music.

  5. Thanks for reminding me, Don! My heart seem to me to be like an Indian reservation somewhere in Arizina right now… Difficult to reach…!?:)

  6. Brenda: Do you? I am so glad to hear that! This is an old poem of mine. It appeared in my first poetry book. I have always liked it. The poem wrote itself as I sat on my meditation cushion one beautiful sunny morning. I will never forget the moment. Thanks Brenda.

Leave a comment