Walking Thoughts

taiga_longwalks2.jpg

long walks in silence

alone, but never lonely

forest path rises up

fresh insight flares inside me–

all thought is impermanent

This entry was posted in Taiga by Don Iannone. Bookmark the permalink.

About Don Iannone

Don Iannone is a poet, writer, teacher and photographer who lives in the Greater Cleveland area. He has worked in the economic development field for over 35 years. Don is the author of three poetry books and five photography books. He is working on a short book of photographs and poems about human trafficking. This work was exhibited at six venues in Ohio. Don holds an M.A. degree in Art and Consciousness Studies from the University of Philosophical Research in Los Angeles, where he teaches writing. His educational background also includes studies in Anthropology, Photography, Organizational Behavior, and Economic Development. Don’s website: http://www.donaldiannone.com Wisdom Work Press: https://wisdomworkpress.wordpress.com

13 thoughts on “Walking Thoughts

  1. Thanks Dan. Hoping the path rises up to meet and greet you today.

    Thanks Aurora. Hopefully I am moving in the right direction.

  2. No, you didn’t have me going for a moment! Once can not stop their soul from expessing itself.

    “all thought is impermanent”

    I am at a lost, for indeed, it has been my understanding that “thoughts” are creative, and every thought creates whatever that thought is. So this line lost me — and no I got to do some hard thinking.

  3. Thanks Floots. Well said. Your poem today was superb. Truly it is.

    Amias, thanks so much for coming by and leaving a comment on my new poetry blog. The concept that thoughts are impermanent is a Buddhist idea. It simply means that thought is grounded in nothing permanent. Our minds drift from thought to thought, and at times we cling too much to what we think and in so doing attempt to make them permanent. That’s all.

    Polona, thanks. From a Master of Haiku and other related forms, I appreciate your comment.

  4. Thanks Don!
    I came back to tell you I had did a little thinking and did discovered that it was a Buddist idea via searching the Internet.

    The thing I enjoy most about poetic thoughts, is when I learn from them. I hate to say, “oh yes, another good one” … to me that’s an insult. So I try hard to see what the poet is trying to impart and how it relates to my thinking —

    This piece was short, but profound to say the least, especially the last line!

    Enjoyed my stay, and your new blog is nicer to the eyes.

  5. Thanks for stopping back, Amias. I agree with your point about probing to learn. I try to do the same.

    Andrew thanks.

    MysticSaint, welcome back. Your path sounds like a beautiful one.

  6. Thanks Z. Glad you like it. After 4 years on Blogger and the old site, I decided it was time to move on. Hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

