Small Things Change Us

Off in the distance
A single bird sings sweetly
A sign this gray February morning
Spring will come soon

Heartened by its melody
I lingered, longer than usual
Soaking in last notes
Stirring hope within me

A mystery to me–
How such a small creature
can ignite such passion
with so simple a song

What a serendipitous blessing, I thought
For something so small to weigh so large
Something so unexpected to spark unity–
A sense God is always there

Something inside me changed, and now
climbing a mountain today
seems far less important
than sitting in quiet holy reception

This entry was posted in Divine in Everyday Life, Spiritual Poetry by Don Iannone. Bookmark the permalink.

About Don Iannone

Don Iannone is a poet, writer, teacher and photographer who lives in the Greater Cleveland area. He has worked in the economic development field for over 35 years. Don is the author of three poetry books and five photography books. He is working on a short book of photographs and poems about human trafficking. This work was exhibited at six venues in Ohio. Don holds an M.A. degree in Art and Consciousness Studies from the University of Philosophical Research in Los Angeles, where he teaches writing. His educational background also includes studies in Anthropology, Photography, Organizational Behavior, and Economic Development. Don’s website: http://www.donaldiannone.com Wisdom Work Press: https://wisdomworkpress.wordpress.com

18 thoughts on “Small Things Change Us

  1. Nice, I don’t know what it is exactly about bird calls, but they can resonate deeply. I used to be out at dawn a lot. Don’t know my birds, but there was this one call that used to enchant me – very simple, a pair, as I recall, of fairly sustained notes, one higher one lower, that would come at infrequent, stately-sounding intervals. Was like celebration touched with melancholy and somehow sounded to me something like a prayer.

  2. Paul: Yes indeed, a songbird prayer. Good size-up of what I experienced. And best of all, God was there and I was there to witness.

  3. funny – I just wrote a tanka mentioning a singing bird in the night, due to the unusual warmth. I guess we’re all thinking of spring. 🙂

  4. Beautiful, Don!:) Reminds me of Roland Kirk, the great jazz musician, and of his great piece called Bright Moments!:) Best wishes!:)

  5. Andrew: Thanks. Yes, I agree. I’m ready spring, but is spring ready for us?

    Borut: Thanks. I will have to look up this piece by Kirk.

  6. i am a non-religious person
    (but with a pantheistic note in my whistle) 🙂
    and this does the job for me
    and i’m with borut as to roland kirk
    cheers

  7. Don, I did that very same thing the last cold day we had. One bird on a bare limb with a beautiful song to sing. Beautiful written!!

  8. Thanks Dan. You Jazz guys stick together.

    Floots: Thanks. I can imagine that whistle of yours.

    Pat: Thanks. I guess birds of a feather, well, stick together.

  9. lovely, I really enjoyed this!
    my birds came in the night – two owls singing softly to each other of love – and my sleep was comforted.

  10. Just looking at one of your previous blog incarnations and noticed this:

    “Don Iannone
    Show up in life. Amazing things happen when you do.

    View my complete profile”

    Back in my ‘monk’ days, someone mentioned this sign they saw in Las Vegas:

    “You must be present to win.”

    We all thought that that was a useful reminder.

    LOVE!

Leave a Reply

