Seeking the Timeless

It’s Friday
Another week is gone
Another piece of life has slipped away

It’s easy to blame the clock
For marching on, into a future
We’re not ready to face

It’s not just that
It’s a future we control; one we possess
Not the other way around

The clock takes away the eternal
Binds us to its hands
Strips us of the moment

Yes, the clock takes it all away
Leading us to believe
That 24-7-365 is our real genetic code

For one hour, I sat on my meditation cushion
No clock in sight
Trying to forget time

I became so annoyed
First with clocks, then clockmakers
Then everyone insisting my time should be theirs

I sat for another hour
Time washed away my annoyances
Yet the wanting lingered

The wanting to be timeless
To be this or that, or anything
Then I saw it–my temporal conditioning

How in fact all the breaths I had taken in my life were lost–
Conditionally buried in the seconds, minutes, and hours
Of my time-bound life

I sat for another hour, and noticed another layer
Beneath my temporal conditioning
And beneath that another, and another

Till finally, I sensed the futility of trying
To experience my life outside of time’s onion
I looked at the clock, it was three pm

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by Don Iannone. Bookmark the permalink.

About Don Iannone

Don Iannone is a poet, writer, teacher and photographer who lives in the Greater Cleveland area. He has worked in the economic development field for over 35 years. Don is the author of three poetry books and five photography books. He is working on a short book of photographs and poems about human trafficking. This work was exhibited at six venues in Ohio. Don holds an M.A. degree in Art and Consciousness Studies from the University of Philosophical Research in Los Angeles, where he teaches writing. His educational background also includes studies in Anthropology, Photography, Organizational Behavior, and Economic Development. Don’s website: http://www.donaldiannone.com Wisdom Work Press: https://wisdomworkpress.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “Seeking the Timeless

  1. Peel that onion.
    Peel that onion.
    And what have you got?
    And what have you got?
    Nothing?
    Or Everything?
    Or both?
    Or neither?
    Or something that Transcends
    all words and ideas?
    And Transcends even that?
    And always did.
    Always has.
    Always is.
    Before.
    After.
    In-between.
    And Beyond.
    And Beyond the Beyond.
    Beyond the Beyond that
    was/is/will be
    never beyond
    Anything.

  2. Funny- just after posting that previous comment, I got the urge to look at the old Anonymous Dharma blog that I hadn’t done anything with for ages, clicked randomly on the archive, and this came up:

    I bow before the sun of Truth,
    Which is neither being nor non-being,
    Nor both being and non-being,
    And neither different from being nor from non-being;
    Which cannot be speculated upon and is beyond explanation,
    But is revealed only by introspection and is peace;
    And destroys craving, aversion, and delusion
    with respect to objects of cognition.

    Ratnagotravibhaga

Leave a Reply

