Buy Me a Buddha

I have everything
and nothing in life
Just one more thing
Buy me a Buddha

I can’t stop wanting
till I have it all
Everything there is
Buy me a Buddha

Kid in a candy store, maybe
Or just a man pushing sixty
holding onto his life
Please, buy me a Buddha

Happiness used to visit more often
when I was young
I beg you please
Buy me a Buddha

When you have everything else
that money can buy
There’s just one thing left
Buy me a Buddha

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , by Don Iannone. Bookmark the permalink.

About Don Iannone

Don Iannone is a poet, writer, teacher and photographer who lives in the Greater Cleveland area. He has worked in the economic development field for over 35 years. Don is the author of three poetry books and five photography books. He is working on a short book of photographs and poems about human trafficking. This work was exhibited at six venues in Ohio. Don holds an M.A. degree in Art and Consciousness Studies from the University of Philosophical Research in Los Angeles, where he teaches writing. His educational background also includes studies in Anthropology, Photography, Organizational Behavior, and Economic Development. Don’s website: http://www.donaldiannone.com Wisdom Work Press: https://wisdomworkpress.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Buy Me a Buddha

  1. If I’d known, I would’ve let the protagonist spend the whole two thousand rupees to buy that Buddha for you. Good one!

Leave a Reply

